about The Advisory Board

The research program of the Milton and Ethel Harris Research Initiative benefits from the advice of 10 world-renowned scientists who work in such areas as autism, cognition and emotion, developmental disorders, language learning, medicine, neurology, neuropsychology, perception, primatology and psychophysics.

Jane Goodall, Chair

Specialization: Primatology, ethnology
Accolades: Medal of Tanzania, the National Geographic Society's Hubbard Medal, the Kyoto Prize, the Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research 2003, the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Life Science, and the Gandhi/King Award for Nonviolence.

Read More

Stanley Coren

University of British Columbia, Human Neuropsychology and Perception Laboratory

Specialization: Perception, neuropsychology, cognitive processing
Accolades: Fellow of the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society, the Canadian Psychological Association, and the American Association of Applied and Preventative Psychology.

Read More

Richard Davidson

University of Wisconsin, Waisman Center

Specialization: Affective neuroscience, autism
Accolades: Vilas Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry, National Institute of Mental Health Research Scientist Award, NIMH MERIT award, National Alliance for Research in Schizophrenia and Affective Disorders (NARSAD) Established Investigator Award, NARSAD Distinguished Investigator Award, American Psychological Society William James Fellow Award, Hilldale Award from the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Read More

Frans deWaal

Emory University, Yerkes Primate Research Center

Specialization: Primatology, ethnology
Accolades: C. H. Candler Professor of Primate Behavior, National Academy of Sciences

Read More

Peter Mundy

University of Miami, Center for Autism and Related Disabilities

Specilization: Early social development, autism
Accolades: Member of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Advisory Committees to both the Collaborative Programs of Excellence in Autism (CPEA) and to the Studies to Advance Autism Research and Treatment (STAART)

Read More

anne Pusey

Executive Director of Primate Research, Jane Goodall Institute, Center for Primate Studies, University of Minnesota

Specialization: Primatology
Accolades: Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Science

Read More

Michael Tomasello

Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology

Specialization: Social cognitive, learning and development, primatology, language learning
Accolades: Honorary Professor of Psychology, University of Leipzig, Honorary Professor of Psychology, Manchester University, Co-Director,Wolfgang Köhler Primate Research Center

Read More

John Tsotsos

York University, Toronto

Specialization: Computer science, computational perception, psychophysics
Accolades: Tier I NSERC Canada Research Chair in Computational Vision, CITO Innovation Award for Leardership in Product Development, CP-UNITEL Fellow, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research

Read More

Colwyn Trevarthen

University of Edinburgh

Specialization: Communication in infants and toddlers, autism, psychobiology

Read More

Don M. Tucker

University of Oregon

Specialization: Cognition and Emotion

Read More